Region Philippines Region Region in the Philippines

Regions of the Philippines

Coat of Arms of the Philippines
politics and government of the Philippines
Congress (16th Congress)
Senate President
Franklin Drilon
House of Representatives
House Speaker
Feliciano Belmonte, - Jr.
Legistative districts
Party-list representation
President (list)
Benigno Aquino III
Vice-president (list)
Jejomar Binay
Supreme Court
Chief Justice
Maria Lourdes Sereno
Court of Appeals
Court of Tax Appeals
Barangay Justice System
Commission on Elections
Chairman: Sixto Brillantes
Political parties
Liberal Party
Nationalist People's Coalition
Nacionalista Party
National Unity Party
United Nationalist Alliance
Local government

In the Philippines, - regions - (Tagalog : rehiyon , ISO 3166-2:PH) are administrative divisions that serve primarily to organize the provinces ( lalawigan ) of the country for administrative convenience. Currently, the archipelagic republic of the Philippines is divided into 17 regions. Most government offices are established by region instead of individual provincial offices, usually (but not always) in the city designated as the regional center.

The regions themselves do not possess a separate local government, with the exception of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao, which has an elected regional assembly and governor. The Cordillera Administrative Region was originally intended to be autonomous (Cordillera Autonomous Region), but the failure of two plebiscites for its establishment reduced it to a regular administrative region.

History - Regions first came to existence in on September 24, 1972 when the provinces of the Philippines were organized into 11 regions by Presidential Decree No. 1 as part of the Integrated Reorganization Plan of President Ferdinand Marcos.

Since that time, other regions have been created and some provinces have been transferred from one region to another.

July 7, 1975: Region XII created and minor reorganization of some Mindanao regions.
August 21, 1975: Region IX divided into Sub-Region IX-A' and Sub-Region IX-B. Minor reorganization of some Mindanao regions.
November 7, 1975: National Capital Region created.
August 1, 1989: Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao created.
October 23, 1989: Cordillera Administrative Region created.
October 12, 1990: Executive Order issued to reorganize the Mindanao regions but the reorganization never happened (possibly due to lack of government funds).
February 23, 1995: Region XIII (Caraga) created and minor reorganization of some Mindanao regions.
1997: Minor reorganization of some Mindanao regions.
September 19, 2001: Most Mindanao regions reorganized and some renamed.
May 17, 2002: Region IV-A (CALABARZON) and Region IV-B (MIMAROPA) created from the former Region IV (Southern Tagalog) region.
May 23, 2005: Palawan transferred from MIMAROPA to Western Visayas; MIMAROPA renamed to MIMARO.
August 19, 2005: The E.O. 429 of May 23, 2005 transferring Palawan from MIMAROPA to Western Visayas was later held in abeyance by Administrative Order #129.
List of regions - Regions
Map of the Philippines exhibiting its 17 regions and 80 provinces.
Regions_of_the_Philippines As of June 2010 Regions_of_the_Philippines , the Philippines consists of 17 administrative regions. Some of the region designations include numeric components, some do not. - These regions are geographically combined into the three island groups of Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. Following is a list of the regions in their island groupings. To get overviews of the regions, see the respective articles on the island groups. The regions CALABARZON, MIMAROPA, and SOCCSKSARGEN are capitalized because they are acronyms that stand for their component provinces or cities. -

Note that insofar as the Judiciary is concerned, specifically the first and second level courts, the country is divided into judicial regions as provided by Batas Pambansa Bilang 129. The coverage of these judicial regions generally coincides with that of the administrative regions in the Executive branch of government.

Regions Regions of the Philippines
Luzon -
I – Ilocos Region
II – Cagayan Valley
III – Central Luzon
V – Bicol Region
CAR – Cordillera Administrative Region
NCR – National Capital Region
Visayas -
VI – Western Visayas
VII – Central Visayas
VIII – Eastern Visayas
Mindanao -
IX – Zamboanga Peninsula
X – Northern Mindanao
XI – Davao Region
XIII – Caraga
ARMM – Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao  - Administrative divisions of the Philippines
Capital -
Manila (National Capital Region) Coat of Arms of the Philippines

Map of the Philippines
Regions -
Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao Administrative
Provinces -
Historical -
Former provinces
Formally proposed provinces
Other subdivisions -
Island groups (Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao)
Legislative districts
Philippines Region 2023
Philippines records strongest economic growth in over 40 years Financial Times
Austin to visit South Korea, Philippines amid elevated concerns ... Stars and Stripes
PH foreign policy 'prospers on partnerships' -- DFA chief The Manila Times
Hong Kong stocks jump 2%, leading gains as investors digest slew of economic data CNBC